Industry Urged to Standardize Tube-stopper Colors

The European Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (EFLM) is urging companies that manufacture blood collection tubes around the world to standardize their stopper colors. Authors of an article published in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine affiliated with EFLM cite the risk to patients when tubes from one manufacturer are replaced by those for another with different color-coded stoppers.

While color-coding is harmonized by manufacturers supplying the North American healthcare industry, stopper colors vary considerably around the world. In the article, stopper colors from 7 tube manufacturers were compared. EDTA, coded as lavender-stoppers in North America, are red in other countries. Heparin tubes, green stoppers in North America, are orange elsewhere. Clot activator tube can be red (North America), white, brown or gold. The various tube manufacturers were not identified in the article.

The authors report a four-fold increase in the frequency of collection errors when facilities change tubes to a manufacturer that uses a different color code, and samples are drawn in the wrong container.

Read the full article here.

#links #phlebotomy #news

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Capital College

© 2010

1980 Gallows Road, 3rd Floor
Tysons, VA 22182
Tel:  703-356-9898
Fax: 703-893-6500

Capital College is certified to operate by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia.

Capital College is a vocational school focused on allied healthcare and only offers programs/courses for non-degree credit. It is not an associate degree-granting institution of higher education or an institution of higher education at which a bachelor degree is the most advanced degree that is granted. Capital College has voluntarily chosen not to be accredited by an accrediting agency and does not meet the criteria for Title IV eligibility of the U.S. Department of Education.